Graduate students in the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture are invited to apply for the 2019-2020 Graduate Student Awards.

Information about Applying

Students may apply for both research and outstanding student awards; however, separate applications will be required for each category of awards as described below. Students may receive multiple awards, but it is the intent of the College to increase the number of graduate students recognized for exceptional performance.

See the links below to research or outstanding student awards for complete information on eligibility requirements and selection criteria.

Research Awards

Four awards are given each year in recognition of outstanding research and scholarly achievements. These “research awards” are the George F. Dow Graduate Scholarship, Fred Griffee Memorial Award, Norris Charles Clements Graduate Student Award, and Graduate Research Excellence Award.

For more information about these awards click here.

Outstanding Student Awards

Four additional awards recognize outstanding graduate student achievement: the Outstanding Masters Student Award, Jean A. and David A. Webb Outstanding Professional Master’s Degree Award, Edith M. Patch Outstanding Ph.D. Student Award, and Outstanding Service Award.

For more information about these awards click here.


  • Research Awards Deadline: January 10, 2020
  • Research Awards Presentation: February 26, 2020
  • Outstanding Student Awards Deadline: January 31, 2020

Application Materials