Department of Molecular and Biomedical Sciences

Katherine F. Jarvis: Outstanding Master’s Degree Student Award

The Outstanding Master’s Degree Student Award recognizes a student who has distinguished themselves in all aspects of graduate performance. Katherine Jarvis came to UMaine to meld her fascination with biochemistry and mathematics. Under the guidance of her advisors, Assistant Professor Joshua Kelley at the Department of Molecular and Biomedical Sciences and Associate Professor Andre Khalil […]

Read more

Bailey West: Frank B. and Charles S. Bickford Memorial Prize

The Frank B. and Charles S. Bickford Prize is the highest honor the college awards to an undergraduate student. The recipient’s time at UMaine should reflect our land and sea grant mission – with a record of outstanding performance in academics, research, and service. From the toxicology lab to the Maine Hunger Dialogue, Bailey West’s […]

Read more

Caleigh Charlebois: Wallace C. and Janet S. Dunham Prize

The Wallace C. and Janet S. Dunham Prize was established to honor an undergraduate student who not only overcame adversity but maintained a positive outlook despite the challenges life presented them – all while achieving personal growth and academic success. For Caleigh Charlebois, the relationships she built at UMaine are just as important as her […]

Read more

Anna Schumann: Outstanding International Student

For more than 20 years, UMaine has honored an exceptional international student from each college. Candidates must have a superior academic record and have made meaningful contributions to his or her area of study. Anna Schumann of Moers, Germany will graduate with a bachelor’s degree in molecular and cellular biology, with a double major in […]

Read more

Colleen Mayberry: Graduate Research Excellence Award

The Graduate Research Excellence Award recognizes a student who has an exemplary record of research and scholarly activity. Colleen Mayberry is the recipient of the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture’s Graduate Research Excellence Award. She is pursuing a Ph.D. in microbiology. Her advisor is Melissa Maginnis, associate professor of microbiology in the Department […]

Read more

Portrait of Bailey West

Bailey West: Biochemistry major to study in Ireland as Mitchell Peace Scholar

Bailey West, a biochemistry major at the University of Maine, has been awarded a George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship and will study abroad in Ireland for a semester as part of the student exchange program. The competitive merit-based scholarship is made possible by an agreement between Maine and Ireland for a student exchange at the university level. […]

Read more

A few of the award sculptures handed to the faculty impact award winners

Faculty honored for support, advocacy and mentorship of students

Select faculty were recognized for their support, advocacy and mentorship of University of Maine students at the Faculty Mentor Appreciation ceremony on May 7. The event, which was originally postponed, is part of the 2019 Maine Impact Week celebration. Among the 23 awardees UMaine recognized, nine are faculty of programs in the College of Natural […]

Read more

Grace Smith, Alan Baez awarded Barry Goldwater Scholarships

University of Maine juniors Grace Smith and Alan Baez have been awarded Barry Goldwater Scholarships for demonstrating exceptional promise of becoming next-generation research leaders in engineering, mathematics or natural sciences. Each will receive as much as $7,500 for tuition, books and room and board. Smith, a junior from Holden, Maine, is a molecular and cellular […]

Read more